November 19, 2012

November 19, 2012

Hello!

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!! I will start with last Monday and as we were driving back from Ft. Myers and saw this guys crash on his motorcycle and it was so sad! As we prayed for him, I felt a warm feeling and knew he would be ok. Then we taught some of our new Investigators and they gave us Haitian Spaghetti (spaghetti with ketchup and mayo) Eww!! So sick. I loved studying this week about our talents and our gifts and how if we have a lot of gifts we need to help others find theirs.  I am excited to expound my talents and help others find their talents and gifts! Tuesday we visited this family and they were watching Harry Potter 2 and oh my goodness such a huge temptation to watch it!  I am for sure having a marathon when I get home!  Wednesday wasn’t anything special. Thursday we weekly planned and we have a ton of potential baptisms and we are so excited! We got 7 new Investigators again this week it was awesome!  Friday Elder Hogge kept telling me I have diabetes because I kept having to use the bathroom.  We taught our new Investigators of 4 sisters and they are so positive and they came to church and everyone was being friendly to them and I just know they loved church!  So excited for them! Soft committed them all to baptism and they said yes!  Saturday we biked all the way out to the farthest part in Immokalee and all our appointments fell through and those little boys who were suppose to get baptized are so sad because their mom just won’t even let them come to church anymore. One started to cry and said I just wanna be baptized.  It is so sad, the mom is totally taking away their agency!  Someday they will get baptized though!  We did our part! Taught Chasline and she is way positive but is so poor she can’t buy church clothes.  So me and Hogge biked to Goodwill and bought her some clothes. She said she will come to church next week, we are excited for her too! Had dinner that night at a members house who has like 6 dogs and a ferret and it was just so gross!  And that night we thought we were going to get robbed because someone was shinning a flash light in all our windows, it was scary!  But Sunday, yesterday was the best day. I bore my testimony in English and basically thanked everyone and started crying when I was talking about my little sisters and how they push me to keep striving and keep pedaling when times get tough. I am so thankful for my family and the love they give to me.  I am Thankful for a supportive family and friends who pray for me.  I am thankful for the people here in Immokalee who love and support us missionaries.  And I am most grateful for the love of God to me and how He is allowing me to represent Him and His Church on a daily basis.  I am thankful for the Atonement of Jesus Christ and His eternal love to me and how I can find forgiveness through His grace.  I am thankful I get to be a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and share the truth with others. Thank you all for supporting me and praying for me. I can feel your love every time I preach the Gospel. After church me and Elder Hogge had to drop Marie, Sabrina and Jenny the sweet girls who we just adore and love.  It was probably the hardest thing I have a had to do on my mission so far, basically saying bye to them hurt me. I know that they will accept the Gospel some time down the road in their lives. But we just went home and cried, just bawled and I couldn’t understand why, why didn’t Heavenly Father let them understand the truth or come to church or progress even just a little. And I was so hurt to leave them without anything without the truth and the Spirit whispered to me to open my scriptures. And I read Ecc. 1:3 which says that to everything there is a season and that time is the Lord’s and in his own due time he will bring to pass His work. And I was truly comforted and understood why we had to drop them and that they would, in Gods time receive the Gospel and that we just planted that seed and one day in Heaven, they will thank us for introducing them with Gods plan of happiness and we will all find joy together. I am so thankful for the Spirit in my life and can testify that it is real and it shows us what to do if we listen and have faith and never doubt the Lord. I encourage all of you to take a minute this week and think of all the things you are grateful for and at the top of your list, have God’s Love. Because he loves each and everyone of us individually.  Be thankful and have a great week!  I love you all!

 

Leave a Reply

