August 13, 2012

8/13/12

 

Hello Family and Friends!

This week was a really good week for me. After I got done emailing last week we played sand volleyball and it started to pour rain, it was the funnest thing!!  I love when it rains here!  Tuesday we took out the little kids for “Missionary” again. It is always so fun!  Wilkerson and Kervens, the two little kids we baptized finally came back from Haiti. They we there for two months!  It was so good to see them! Wednesday we had a ZDM Meeting and it was pretty good. Our District Leader drew me the sweetest Batman. 🙂 After we went to a members home and had the best lunch!  She makes this stuff, and I don’t know how to say it in Spanish so I made up my own way to say it and now everyone calls it that, it’s called A-Rice con Leche!! It means Rice with Milk.  So good! Thursday we biked all day and saw tons of people, we helped a member out “put on her swag” for school and picked out some cool shoes and clothes for her to order. The Women’s soccer team won gold in the Olympics, caught the tail end of that. Friday we were supposed to sing Spirit of God for a seminary fireside but I didn’t feel good so we left.  Elder McNeil said a prayer and it was really spiritual, I am so happy I am able to feel the Savior’s love through other’s prayers.  Saturday was my favorite and not so favorite day.  We had transfer calls and Elder Stegall is getting transferred to Ft. Myers and my new companion is named Elder Hogge. He went to Lone Peak.  He is a great Elder and we will get along great! I am so happy my mission President trusts me enough to take over an area. I am excited but I am also sad I don’t have Elder Stegall anymore. We played football with the youth and it was way fun! Me and Elder Stegall biked all of Immoaklee saying bye to everyone and getting pictures because he is leaving.  It is sad, all these kids and members love him! We had another party on Saturday night and it was so fun! It was a sweet 16 for this girl in our Branch. It was a blast. These girls came up to me and asked if they could get a picture with me because I look like Justin Bieber! It was awkward.But way funny!  Sunday was beautiful like always. I did the sacrament prayer in Creole and did awesome! I was basically Elder Stegall’s personal photographer all day! He had to pack all Sunday and we said bye to these members and they started to cry, it was sad. I hope people cry when I get transferred……sjust kidding! But for his last night we all put our mattresses in the living room, it was fun! I get my new companion tomorrow. I am pretty excited! I’m not a greenie anymore!! So yesterday morning I fasted, our mission is doing this thing called Project Purification. We fast and write down all of the things that we need to improve on and that is taking away from the Spirit. I am really excited, I can’t wait to more abundantly have the Spirit in my life. I don’t believe I’m a disobedient Elder and I don’t think the Spirit is absent in my life but it is always good to center everything around Christ and to walk in his footsteps continually. I am excited to see a change in my life. Of course I am going to continue to be myself and have fun but more spiritually in tuned! I hope you enjoy the pictures! And… I love hand-written letters, I would love to write people so get other peoples address’s so that I can write them.  Have a wonderful week family, don’t have too much fun without me! 

 

D&C 75:24 “Behold, I say unto you, that it is the duty of the church.. to support the families of those who are called and must needs be sent unto the world to proclaim the gospel unto the world.” The Church as well as Heavenly Father will support and love the families of missionaries. You are all protected in Gods loving arms. I love you all!

-Elder Dallen Troy Thomas

 

One thought on “August 13, 2012

Leave a Reply

